Recognizing all great researchers equally.

InfQ 2017

InfQ 2017 – New Frontiers in Quantitative Methods in Informatics

December, 4 Venice – Italy

In conjunction with Valuetools 2017

The seventh Workshop of the Italian group on Quantitative Methods in Informatics (InfQ 2017) will be held in Venice, co-located with Valuetools 2017, after the past successful editions in Pisa (2010), Lipari (2011), Lucca (2012), Sorrento (2013), Torino (2014) and Taormina (2016).

InfQ is the leading Italian forum on quantitative modelling, evaluation, and verification, of computer, networks, telecommunication systems, and more general classes of man-made, social, or natural systems.

InfQ welcomes both contributions on methodology and application, and gives value to both the theoretical and practical perspectives. Conference topics include, but are not limited to:

  • quantitative modelling formalisms, solution techniques, and tools for probabilistic or stochastic systems possibly combining non-determinism, queueing networks, analytical numerical or statistical solution, fluid and hybrid behavior, emergent behavior and collective systems, game theory, hierarchical or multi-formalism composition and model driven engineering, soft computing;
  • applications of quantitative methods in a variety of contexts, notably including Industry 4.0, Internet of Things, Cyber-Physical Systems, smart cities, smart energy, e-healthcare and Ambient Assisted Living, social and urban computing, Bioinformatics, Software Defined Networks, quantum computing, cloud/edge/fog computing, capacity planning, load characterization, self adaptive systems.

Continuing its tradition, the InfQ Workshop welcomes not only mature results but also contributions reporting work in progress and research developed by PhD students, with the aim of making them available to a broad audience and promote the exchange and collaboration among experienced and young researchers from the different Italian Universities and Research Organizations.


All INFQ participants must register using the registration form. The registration is free and it includes the participation right to the workshop and two coffee breaks. The lunch and the dinner will be paid on site by the participants.
For the lunch, there will be a special menu with fixed price (20-25euros) at the local restaurant. Attendees can also register to join the social dinner for a price around 40-50 euros.

Submission process and types of contributions

Contributions must be submitted in electronic format (PDF) through Easychair (find here necessary information). Submitted papers must be unpublished and not submitted elsewhere, written in English, and formatted according to the Springer LaTex style.

Two different types of contributions are welcome:

  • full conference papers, not exceeding 14 pages, reporting mature results of scientific or industrial research;
  • short papers, not exceeding 6 pages, reporting experience or preliminary results from ongoing research or projects.

Each submitted paper will be reviewed by at least three referees, from a Program Committee combining together leading Italian and International scholars, on the basis of originality, scientific and practical contribution to the state-of-the-art, technical soundness, and quality of presentation.

All accepted papers will be presented at the workshop and published by Springer Verlag in conference proceedings in the CCIS (Communications in Computer and Information Science) series, included in Springer e-book packages and covered by all major indexing services, including Scopus.

Proceedings will be published after the Workshop, and electronic versions of accepted papers will be distributed in electronic format together with Valuetools 2017 proceedings.

The workshop program will also include a PhD Defense Corner were doctoral students who have already achieved a good level of maturity in their research program can present and discuss an early version of their dissertation. Proposals of presentation, not exceeding 4 pages and including title, abstract, contact information, and affiliation, must be submitted directly to the PC Chairs.

Contributions should be submitted in electronic format (PDF) through Easychair.

Easychair submission link:

Important dates

Paper submission: 14 October 2017 [Extended]
Notification of acceptance: 18 November 2017
Camera ready submission: 24 November 2017
Workshop: 4 December 2017


Steering Committee

Marco Ajmone Marsan, Politecnico di Torino
Simonetta Balsamo, University of Venice
Bruno Ciciani, Università di Roma La Sapienza
Michele Colajanni, University of Modena and Reggio Emilia
Marco Conti, Italian National Research Council
Susanna Donatelli, University of Turin
Lorenzo Donatiello, University of Bologna
Giuliana Franceschinis, University of Piemonte Orientale “A. Avogadro”
Vincenzo Grassi, Universita’ di Roma “Tor Vergata”
Paola Inverardi, Universita’ dell’Aquila
Paolo Prinetto, Politecnico di Torino
Antonio Puliafito, University of Messina
Giuseppe Serazzi, Politecnico di MilanoSalvatore Tucci, Universita’ di Roma “Tor Vergata”
Giorgio Ventre, Università di Napoli Federico II
Enrico Vicario, University of Florence

General Chairs

Simonetta Balsamo, University of Venice
Enrico Vicario, University of Florence

Publicity Chairs

Giovanni Merlino, University of Messina
Matteo Sottana, Università “Ca Foscari” Venezia

Program Committee

Michele Amoretti, University of Parma
Mauro Andreolini, University of Modena and Reggio Emilia
Danilo Ardagna, Politecnico di Milano
Ezio Bartocci, TU Wien
Marco Beccuti, University of Turin
Enrico Bini, University of Turin
Andrea Bondavalli, University of Florence
Alessio Botta, Universita’ di Napoli “Federico II”
Luca Bortolussi, University of Trieste
Dario Bruneo, University of Messina
Massimo Canonico, University of Piemonte Orientale “A. Avogadro”
Valeria Cardellini , Universita’ di Roma “Tor Vergata”
Laura Carnevali, University of Florence
Emiliano Casalicchio, Blekinge Institute of Technology
Daniele Codetta Raiteri, University of Piemonte Orientale “A. Avogadro”
Salvatore Di Stefano, University of Messina
Jean-Michel Fourneau, University de Versailles
Rossano Gaeta, University of Turin
Marco Gribaudo, Politecnico di Milano
Marco Guazzone, University of Piemonte Orientale “A. Avogadro”
Jane Hillston, Univeristy of Edinburgh
Andras Horvath, Univeristy of Torino
Mauro Iacono, Università degli Studi della Campania “Luigi Vanvitelli”
Stefano Iannucci, Mississippi State University
Alain Jean-Marie, INRIA
William Knottenbelt, Imperial College of London
Erol Gelenbe, Imperial College London
Leana Golubchik, USC Viterbi
Riccardo Lancellotti, University of Modena and Reggio Emilia
Francesco Longo, University of Messina
Francesco Lo Presti, Universita’ di Roma “Tor Vergata”
Michele Loreti, University of Florence
Fumio Machida, NEC Corp.
Andrea Marin, University of Venice
David Parker, University of Birmingham
Marco Paoleri, Univeristy of Southern California
Simon Pietro Romano, Universita’ di Napoli Federico II
Marco Scarpa, University of Messina
Giovanni Stea, University of Pisa
Nigel Thomas, University of Newcastle
Kishor Trivedi, Duke University
Massimo Villari, University of Messina
Jianwen Xiang, NEC Corp. Tokyo
Francesco Zanichelli, University of Parma
Armin Zimmermann, Technische Universitat Ilmenau

EAI Institutional Members